AWS for Students: Founders self-serve from $1,000 (up to $5,000 if selected)

AWS Activate Credits

✅ Active Active · Last verified Oct 21, 2026

What you get

  • Founders self-serve from $1,000 (up to $5,000 if selected)
  • Portfolio up to $200,000
  • AI Startups $200,000+ (invitation only)

From the official page: “Up to $200,000 USD in Activate Credits — You must have an Organization ID (Org ID)”

How to claim

  1. Apply at aws.amazon.com/startups/credits

Eligibility

Pre-Series B, founded within the last 10 years, AWS paid account; Portfolio requires an accelerator/VC Org ID

Expiry & renewal rules

No explicit duration is stated on the official page. Free terms can change at any time — this page tracks changes.

Availability

Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.

FAQ

Is AWS still free for students in 2026?

Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. Founders self-serve from $1,000 (up to $5,000 if selected) Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.

Do I need a credit card? How long does the AWS student offer last?

The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. No explicit duration is stated on the official page.

What's the catch with AWS's student program?

The honest caveats: free terms can change at any time. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.

More in Cloud & Databases

All Cloud & Databases →