GitHub for Students: Personal free accounts get 120 core hours or 60 hours (2-core) per month + 15…
Codespaces (free for students)
What you get
- Personal free accounts get 120 core hours or 60 hours (2-core) per month + 15 GB storage
- free for students via the GitHub Student Pack (Pro-level access).
From the official page: “Codespaces is available for free to students as part of the GitHub Student Developer Pack”
How to claim
- Open your GitHub account.
- Go to a repository.
- Create a Codespace.
Eligibility
On by default for personal free accounts; students need Pack verification.
Expiry & renewal rules
Resets monthly; overages are billed pay-as-you-go.
Availability
Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.
FAQ
Is GitHub still free for students in 2026?
Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. Personal free accounts get 120 core hours or 60 hours (2-core) per month + 15 GB storage Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.
Do I need a credit card? How long does the GitHub student offer last?
The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: Resets monthly; overages are billed pay-as-you-go.
What's the catch with GitHub's student program?
The honest caveats: Resets monthly; overages are billed pay-as-you-go.. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.