GitHub (Primer) for Students: GitHub's official handcrafted icon set, roughly 390 icons (6 categories,…
Octicons icon library
What you get
- GitHub's official handcrafted icon set, roughly 390 icons (6 categories, including Symbols 145 / Objects 90 / Developer 110)
- open source repo primer/octicons (MIT license — not stated on the page, defer to the repo)
From the official page: “A scalable set of icons handcrafted by GitHub.”
How to claim
- Reference it via primer.style or install with npm
Eligibility
Available as open source
Expiry & renewal rules
No explicit duration is stated on the official page. Free terms can change at any time — this page tracks changes.
Availability
Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.
FAQ
Is GitHub (Primer) still free for students in 2026?
Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. GitHub's official handcrafted icon set, roughly 390 icons (6 categories, including Symbols 145 / Objects 90 / Developer 110) Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.
Do I need a credit card? How long does the GitHub (Primer) student offer last?
The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. No explicit duration is stated on the official page.
What's the catch with GitHub (Primer)'s student program?
The honest caveats: free terms can change at any time. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.